Inbhear Scéine Gaels Ladies Football

GAA Maries Party9Marie O’Sullivan Morgan and Mossie Walsh were honoured in a special celebration and reunion recently in the Sneem Tavern. Players, members and coaches, both past and present, turned out to officially acknowledge and thank Marie and Mossie for their outstanding long-term dedication and commitment to ladies football the Sneem and Kenmare areas. The night was brimming with decades of club history, accolades, photographs, stories, music and dancing ‘til late! A huge thanks to all involved in organising every aspect of this truly memorable occasion.
A bit of history! The first ladies football team in the area was founded in Templenoe in 1973/74 under the management of Denis Cremin. This team was up and running for two years and competed well at the time. Marie O’Sullivan Morgan came on board in 1977 and took on the role of treasurer and county board delegate – little did she know that she would carry on the latter role until 2015!!
The Sneem Ladies Football Club was first established in late 1999 and started competing in 2000. Marie O’Sullivan Morgan of Tahilla and Anne Browne Burns both wanted to set up a sports organisation for females, so they joined ideas and enthusiasm over a pot of tea in the Sneem House that year. John Damien O’Sullivan of the Sneem Tavern agreed to be the club sponsor and got the Sneem girls their first set of black and orange jerseys which have proved to be very lucky on many occasions!
In 2004, four girls came from Kenmare to play with the Sneem team as Kenmare had no junior team at the time. The late Johnny O’Sullivan Myles had the bright idea that Kenmare and Sneem should join forces to form a junior team which is still together today. The then manager of Sneem ladies John V. O’Sullivan also came on board and the Sneem/Kenmare ladies football team was formed. During this time Marie continued to be an integral part in organising the games, attending county board meetings and generally keeping the peace!
In 2007 Sean O’Sullivan took over the team and in 2008 Timmy Clifford took the reins and remained in charge for three years. Many strides were made during these years with the team enjoying a well-deserved promotion to Junior A. In 2011 Mossie Walsh who was an avid supporter of club and even won the accolade of ‘supporter of the year’ joined the committee and subsequently the management team where he remained until 2015!
During the 2011 season the club reached the Munster Junior A Championship semi-final and the team was promoted to the Intermediate championship for the following season. The late Tony Looney managed the team during such success. In 2012 Paddy Doyle and Teddy Doyle managed the side as they won the Intermediate championship and advanced to the Intermediate Munster championship finals. In 2013 Marie & Mossie led the team as they competed in Division 1 and the Senior Championship for the first time in the history of the club!
In 2014 Emer O’Sullivan joined Marie & Mossie on the management team and again the team competed well in the top leagues. Pat Condon came on board in 2015 to manage the team who just came up short in the Division 1 final. For the coming season the club has strengthened its senior panel and aims to be competitive again in the top division under the direction of Colm Horgan. Best of luck to all our players and coaches for the season ahead.
As you can see a lot has happened in ladies football since the 1970’s, none of which would be possible without the hard work and dedication of people like Marie and Mossie!