Kenmare Shamrocks reports…

Kerry Juniors. Huge congratulations to all those from Kenmare and Templenoe who spurred the Kerry Juniors to a two-in-row with victory over Mayo in Croke Park. Kevin O’Sullivan, Kieran Fitzgibbon and Dara O’Shea are Shamrocks and Adrian Spillane, Patrick Clifford the Templenoe contingent (Stephen O’Sullivan and Kieran O’Neill were also involved in the campaign). Well done to all. Kerry Minors, ably led by Sean O’Shea are into an All Ireland semi final, where they will meet Kildare, to be followed by Kerry v Dublin, Stephen O’Brien and Templenoe’s Tadgh Morley taking on the blues, both games on the 28th August – mouth-watering!

Kenmare/Kilgarvan played Abbeydorney in the Final of the Lee Strand U16 County Hurling Championship in Austin Stack Park on Tuesday 2nd of August. We had already defeated Abbeydorney in the U16 Division 1 County League Final back in May and a close encounter was again anticipated.
We started in whirlwind fashion with a goal in the second minute from full forward James McCarthy. We added a further three points from Donal O’Sullivan before Abbeydorney replied with three frees between the 8th and the 11th minute from Michael Slattery. Kenmare/Kilgarvan defended like trojans with Dan McCarthy rock solid at full back being ably assisted by Darragh O’Connor and Gary Randles before the latter had to go off with a sprained wrist after twenty minutes. Donal O’Sullivan in the meantime added two more points on to the score board before he struck for a superb goal. Kenmare/Kilgarvan added three more points Donal O’Sullivan again registering two scores one from play one from a free. Conor Lucey added a point to the tally to put his name on the scoreboard. Abbeydorney struck for a goal on the stroke of half time through wing forward Sean Holden.This left us with an eight point interval lead of 2-8 to 1-3.
Abbeydorney got off the blocks early in the second half and added two goals and two points in the first eleven minutes to tie the game.Their centre forward Michael Slattery was their main dangerman and he put Abbeydorney into a one point lead on the 12th minute.The Kenmare/Kilgarvan half backs Tommy Cronin, Liam Twomey and Cian O’Sullivan held a solid half back line before Donal O’Sullivan landed a free on the 14 th minute to level matters. Dan McCarthy when moved to midfield surged forward to land two further points from play. However Abbeydorney responded with two points, one from play and one from a free. Daniel Casey landed a point from play but again Abbeydorney responded with a point and tied up matters again. James McCarthy when moved to wing forward gathered on the fifty and soloed through their defence and booted home a match changing goal in the 58th minute. From the puckout Tommy Cronin won possession and fired over the insurance point. Daniel Casey won possession again from Abbeydorney’s puck out and was fouled. Donal O’Sullivan converted the free to see Kenmare/Kilgarvan win with a margin of five points.The final score reading Kenmare/Kilgarvan 3-14 Abbeydorney 3-9.
The panel for Kenmare/Kilgarvan were Gearóid Doyle, Darragh O’Connor, Liam Twomey,Gary Randles,Tommy Cronin,Dan Mc Carthy, Cian O’Sullivan, Daniel Casey, Jack Foley,Griffin Lynch Wharton,Donal O’Sullivan (Capt.),Cian Hanley, Conor Lucey,James Mc Carthy,Ronan Foley, Jack Maye, Dion Murphy, Darragh O’ Brien, Pádraig Cronin, Kieran Kelleher and Séan Lucey.
This was a fantastic team performance and The William Sweeney Trophy is heading south for the second year in a row .Winning the League and Championship double2016 is a just reward for this spirited bunch of players. Congratulations to the management team of John and Mickey Foley Flor O’Brien and Donal McCarthy. Management and players are truly keeping hurling alive and well in The Roughty Valley.