Kilgarvan/Kenmare U16 Hurlers win the county!

Congratulations to our U16 hurling championship team pic 2016 for winning the County U16 Hurling Championship against a gallant Abbeydorney side. Earlier in the year, Kilgarvan/Kenmare won the U16 Division 1 Hurling League against the same opposition.
The game started in a whirlwind fashion for Kilgarvan/Kenmare. They were up 1-03 to 0-01 after eight minutes, the goal coming from a great run by Donal O’Sullivan and strike leaving James McCarthy with the easiest of tap ins from the rebound, indeed Donal O’Sullivan would finish the game with 1-10 contributed to the score board. But this was a real team effort with the full back line of Gary Randles and Dan McCarthy outstanding with the Dan McCarthy striking the ball at will up the field. Liam Twomey was given the difficult job of marking Michael Slattery, a job he did very well. Indeed Liam Twomey was the only player capable of marking Michael Slattery as he proved already in the league final earlier in the year. Jack Foley and Daniel Casey were well on top of midfield at this point with Daniel receiving a heavy knock earlier in the game. Donal O’Sullivan and Griffin Lynch Wharton were working tirelessly in half forward line. The score at half time was 2-08 to 1-03 with Gary Randles having to leave the field of play injured just before the interval.
With the wind at their backs Abbeydorney were always going to come back in the second half, bit by bit they chipped away at the scoreboard. Donal O’Sullivan was now at mid field and Daniel Casey at centre forward. This move worked well with Donal getting onto an amount of ball and Daniel scoring a point and being fouled for two frees. Dan McCarthy burst up the field from centre back and scored a point. But in the last three minutes Abbeydorney had drawn level and then took the lead. Kilgarvan/Kenmare fought back to level the score and in a welter of excitement, James McCarthy who was operating now at the wing burst through and kicked the ball to the back of the net. Two more points followed from Donal o’Sullivan free and Tommy Cronin who won possession from the puckout and fired over the insurance point to see Kilgarvan/Kenmare win with a margin of five points. The final score reading Kilgarvan/Kenmare 3-14 Abbeydorney 3-9.
Team: Gearóid Doyle, Darragh O’Connor, Liam Twomey,Gary Randles,Tommy Cronin,Dan Mc Carthy, Cian O’Sullivan, Daniel Casey, Jack Foley,Griffin Lynch Wharton,Donal O’Sullivan (Capt.),Cian Hanley, Conor Lucey,James Mc Carthy,Ronan Foley, Jack Maye, Dion Murphy, Darragh O’ Brien, Pádraig Cronin, Kieran Kelleher and Séan Lucey.
This was a great team performance; the William Sweeney Trophy is heading south for the second year in a row. To win the league and championship in 2016 is a fantastic achievement for this great bunch of players. Congratulations to the management team of John and Mickey Foley ,Flor O’Brien and Donal McCarthy.